Upcoming Publication Of ‘For Those In Peril On The Sea’

3 Dec

Some of you may have noticed that I’ve been a bit remise with my postings for the last couple of weeks. This is because I’ve been running round like a headless chicken trying to get everything sorted for the UK publication of my novel about survival in post-apocalyptic world, called For Those In Peril On The Sea, on the 3rd of January 2013 (international and e-book editions won’t be released until March 2013 when I’ll have to go through it all again).

In the run up to the publication date, I’ll be posting excerpts from the first few chapters on this blog. I’ll start these postings on Boxing day (the day after Christmas) and end on Hogmanay (New Year’s Eve) – because nothing says Happy Holidays like a zombie-type apocalypse!

In the meantime, below is a very brief trailer/teaser I’ve put together for a bit of fun (it’s a simple animation based on the cover design).

Enjoy, and normal blogging will be resumed at some point in the not too distant future.

About For Those In Peril On The Sea (Pictish Beast Publications): This novel is set in a present day where a bio-tech company conducts an illegal trial of a new type of genetically engineered rabies vaccine in the slums of Haiti. The trial goes wrong, creating a strain of the virus that no longer kills people but instead turns them into violent, cannibalistic monsters. The virus rapidly spreads around the world and few people are left uninfected.

The story centres on Bill, Rob, Jon and CJ, four strangers brought together by chance to deliver a newly built yacht from South Africa to Miami.  When they start out, there was nothing to suggest it would be anything other than a routine delivery, but by the time they reach their destination, they find the land  is no longer safe. Their only option is to stay on the boat and try to survive.

Join Bill, Rob, Jon and CJ as they travel around their frightening new world. One where they must struggle against the infected that now rule the land, the elements and each other.

3 Responses to “Upcoming Publication Of ‘For Those In Peril On The Sea’”

  1. new old girl 09/12/2012 at 22:17 #

    Perspective is everything. I was so excited about the January release, when I realized I’m international. WhaT??? I live in America – that’s not international.

    • cmdrysdale 10/12/2012 at 10:25 #

      Hi there.

      Glad you’re excited about this.

      Unfortunately both me and my publisher are based in the UK (rather than America). I’m not really sure why there are different dates for release for the edition that will go on sale in the UK and the one that will be available outside of the UK, but I think it’s something to do with sorting out a distributor/printing overseas (apparently the standard size of novels in the UK and America are not the same meaning there needed to be some reformatting),

      Anyway, you’d still be able to buy it in January, it would just have to be from a UK website (like Amazon.co.uk), and I don’t think the postage to the US would be cheap. Other than that, I’m afraid you’d have to wait until March.

      All the best,

      Colin

      • new old girl 10/12/2012 at 23:25 #

        Thanks! I’ll be one of your first American readers, I promise.

Leave a Reply

