Nightwatch: A Flash Fiction Zombie Story

18 Jan

There was the smell of decomposing flesh in the still night air but I had no sense of how long it had been there. I adjusted my grip on the spade I was holding. I sniffed again, was it my imagination or was it getting stronger? A twig cracked behind me. I turned and swung. I caught a glimpse of a face, cheeks rotting and teeth bared, just before the spade obliterated it. I stared at the fetid corpse, shocked at how close the zombie had got undetected. My lesson learned, I swore I’d never fall asleep on watch again.


***

Flash (or micro) fiction aims to tell a whole story in a hundred words or less. As a friday afternoon challenge, I decided to see if I could do a flash fiction zombie story (after all is there a better way to procrastinate over the work I really should be doing at the end of the week?). It turned out to be harder than I thought (100 words really isn’t much) but it strikes me it’s a good way to work on you writing skills since you really have to make every word count, and I’d encourage other writers to give this shortest form of short fiction a go from time to time. You can download a PDF of this story by clicking here.

The next challenge (suggested by my girlfriend), Twitter Fiction: Can I do a whole zombie story (complete with protagonist, a start, a middle and an end, and of course the zombies themselves) in just 140 characters? If I can come up with anything acceptable, I’ll post it here.


*****************************************************************************
From the author of For Those In Peril On The Sea, a tale of post-apocalyptic survival in a world where zombie-like infected rule the land and all the last few human survivors can do is stay on their boats and try to survive. Now available in the UK. Click here or visit www.forthoseinperil.net to find out more.

Leave a Reply

