What Would You Do If … Dilemmas In A Zombie Apocalypse: No. 4 – The Sinking Ship Dilemma

22 Mar

Your boat’s sinking and it’s sinking fast. You have two choices and only moments to decide: You can stay in the water and hope that someone rescues you before the sharks start to circle or you can make for the shore and take your chances with the zombies that now rule the land. What do you do?

As always, this dilemma is just here to make you think, so there’s no right or wrong answer. Vote in the poll to let others what you do if you were in this situation, and if you want to give a more detailed answer, leave a comment on this posting.


*****************************************************************************
From the author of For Those In Peril On The Sea, a tale of post-apocalyptic survival in a world where zombie-like infected rule the land and all the last few human survivors can do is stay on their boats and try to survive. Now available in print and as a Kindle eBook. Click here or visit www.forthoseinperil.net to find out more.

To read the Foreword Clarion Review of For Those In Peril On The Sea (where it scored five stars out of five) click here or visit https://www.forewordreviews.com/reviews/for-those-in-peril-on-the-sea/


4 Responses to “What Would You Do If … Dilemmas In A Zombie Apocalypse: No. 4 – The Sinking Ship Dilemma”

  1. jkholmes92 23/03/2013 at 10:43 #

    I really enjoy these scenarios. I’d doubt you’d be able to last in the sea very long, so I’d take my chances on shore.

    • cmdrysdale 23/03/2013 at 12:00 #

      Good to hear you’re enjoying these dilemmas. I have to say I’m quite enjoying putting them together as it makes a nice change from the day job (which at the moment is updating an encyclopaedia chapter I written on an obscure family of whales!) and the sequel to my first novel that I’m meant to be working on.

      I guess how long you’d last in the water would depend on where in the world you were. In the North Sea, it would be about 10 minutes (but there’s no sharks that might eat you there) while out in the West Indies where the water’s warmer you can last hours (lots of sharks there though). The longest I’ve ever heard of someone lasting for in the water was in the Bahamas and that was two days (after which he was finally picked up by a passing boat).

      I suspect the longer you’re in the water and the colder and more tired you get, the more inviting the shore would become regardless of the zombies that might lurk there. Certainly, I could see myself struggling on for a few hours before I finally gave up and decided that I’d rather face the undead than drown or get eaten by sharks.

  2. JD 04/04/2013 at 00:09 #

    If the zombies were like the ones I’ve been seeing on The Walking Dead, I would hop on land and start laying those walkers flat. But if the zombies were like the really fast ones from 28 Days Later, I might prefer to take my chances with the sharks! Zombies that move like lightening? Unacceptable!

    • cmdrysdale 04/04/2013 at 00:23 #

      It all depends whether your zombies are the dead risen (TWD) or living people infected with a disease (28 Days). That will determine if they are ‘fast’ zombies or more traditional ‘slow’ zombies. The other thing you have to remember is if your boat sinks, you might not have any weapons, meaning you might have trouble laying out even TWD zombies …

Leave a Reply

