Leaving – A Flash Fiction Zombie Story

1 May

I move from the barricaded windows back towards our bed and kiss her as she sleeps. I’ve loved her for as long as I can remember but now I’m abandoning her when she needs me most. I look down again at the now-festering bite mark on my arm. How could I have been so careless?

***

Flash (or micro) fiction aims to tell a whole story within a specific short word limit. This was one I wrote for the Zombie Authors blog, a site I’d highly recommend visiting, and it was first published there on the 21st of March 2013. The word limit for this story was 55 words and ou can find the original post here. You can also down load a PDF of this story can be downloaded from here.



*****************************************************************************
From the author of For Those In Peril On The Sea, a tale of post-apocalyptic survival in a world where zombie-like infected rule the land and all the last few human survivors can do is stay on their boats and try to survive. Now available in print and as a Kindle ebook. Click here or visit www.forthoseinperil.net to find out more. To download a preview of the first three chapters, click here.

To read the Foreword Clarion Review of For Those In Peril On The Sea (where it scored five stars out of five) click here.

2 Responses to “Leaving – A Flash Fiction Zombie Story”

  1. Jack Flacco 01/05/2013 at 16:31 #

    Nicely done with 55 words, Colin! I like how you incorporated the zombie theme by showing us the barricaded windows and the bite mark. Then you’ve added the life decision–he had to leave. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

