Maths With Zombies

18 May

A while a go, I posted an article about using zombies in education to help teach kids and students subjects that might otherwise seem a little boring. Initially, I thought that was as far as the idea would go, but instead it sparked something in my head. I’m a bit of a maths geek (my girlfriend’s forever making fun of me when I come home with new books with titles like Curious And Interesting Geometry – and yes that’s a real book which is currently sitting on my bookshelf!), but when I was at school I remember all the problems we were set being incredibly boring (all that stuff about trains travelling between stations and different speeds and so on). What, I thought, would happen if I combined my love of maths and my love of zombies? Could I come up maths problems that would actually be interesting?

The Little Book Of Zombie Mathematics

The Little Book Of Zombie Mathematics

This led me to create a sister-blog to this one with the rather endearing title of Maths With Zombies. I’ve posted five zombie-based maths problems on it so far and will be posting a new one each thursday at 15:00 (UK time). They’re aimed at anyone from the age of about 12 upwards, but should be challenging enough to keep adults entertained. There’s also a link for each problem that allows anyone to download a PDF handout that teachers can use in classrooms if they so wish.

Once I have enough problems together, I’m going to bring them together in a book which currently has the working title of The Little Book Of Zombie Mathematics: 50 zombie-based Maths Problems.

If you get a chance, check the Maths With Zombies blog out and let me know what you think.


*****************************************************************************
From the author of For Those In Peril On The Sea, a tale of post-apocalyptic survival in a world where zombie-like infected rule the land and all the last few human survivors can do is stay on their boats and try to survive. Now available in print and as a Kindle ebook. Click here or visit www.forthoseinperil.net to find out more. To download a preview of the first three chapters, click here.

To read the Foreword Clarion Review of For Those In Peril On The Sea (where it scored five stars out of five) click here.

3 Responses to “Maths With Zombies”

  1. auburn21 19/05/2013 at 10:45 #

    Reblogged this on Waffling on… and commented:
    What an awesome idea! anything zombie gets a thumbs up from me 🙂

    • cmdrysdale 19/05/2013 at 10:50 #

      Thanks for re-blogging this, and glad to hear you like it.

  2. Trent DeJong 02/06/2013 at 08:21 #

    Zombies really are far more than just a movie monster. I teach Zombies! Zombies are great to use in an educational context because of their cultural popularity, especially among the school age demographic. As a teacher in the humanities, I have found them to be fascinating philosophically and think that zombies have a lot to teach us about ourselves. I have written about the meaning of zombies at my website (the first post is at http://trentdejong.com/?p=592). This series is a little academic and quite detailed. If you’d like a lighter version I summarized it all in a post called “10 Things Zombies Tell Us About Ourselves.” You can find that one here: http://www.squidoo.com/the-meaning-of-zombies2. I hope these resources can help teachers to engage their students.

Leave a Reply

