The Things You Do When You Really Should Be Writing – Part II

25 Jul

As I wrote in the first part of this post, procrastination can be the writer’s worst enemy. Yet, it’s easy to become side-tracked by the daftest little things. Today, for me, it’s been sleeve-facing. For those of you not familiar with this pastime, it’s when you take the cover of an old vinyl album which has a face (or other body part), and match yourself up with it to make it look like you’re part of the picture. I know it doesn’t sound much, but it’s a great way to waste a day when you just can’t face putting in your 5,000 words (or whatever your limit is).

So how do you do it? Well, either raid your record collection (or your partners, or your parents, or possibly grand-parents depending on how old you are) or head down to the nearest charity shop and pick out some records. You’re not making your selection based on the quality of the music (as will be clear from the examples below), but instead you’re looking for ones with a photo or a picture of a person on the sleeve. Specifically, you want one which only has part of a person on it and not a full length body shot.

Once you’ve made your selection, you need to get someone else involved (in my case my girlfriend, who’s also working from home at the moment, was recruited), and grab a camera, and then the fun begins. One of you takes the camera, while the other holds the album and tries to line themselves up with the person on the cover in such a way that it looks like you are part of them. Sometimes this is easy, others it’s not, but either way the results are usually highly amusing.

So without much ado, here’s the results of yet another fruitful day’s procrastination when I should have been writing (note: all these albums were bought specifically to do this with and do not reflect my taste in music in any way what-so-ever!):

The first one we tried was the sound track to the movie 'Footloose' because it seemed relatively simple. The legs belong to my long-suffering girlfriend.

The first one we tried was the sound track to the movie ‘Footloose’ because it seemed relatively simple. The legs belong to my long-suffering girlfriend.




Next came my turn, and an old Jason Donovan album (just remember this was purchased from a charity shop specifically for this and it's not an album I already had lying around the house - honest!). Jason's head is a little big for my body, but it's not too bad.

Next came my turn, and an old Jason Donovan album (just remember this was purchased from a charity shop specifically for this and it’s not an album I already had lying around the house – honest!). Jason’s head is a little big for my body, but it’s not too bad.




Then came David Essex. This was probably the best one we did. Again the body is mine, and the album isn't!

Then came David Essex. This was probably the best one we did. Again the body is mine, and the album isn’t!




Then things started getting a bit more surreal, but it still works...

Then things started getting a bit more surreal, but it still works…



Well, that’s supper time here in the UK, and yet another day has passed when I’ve missed my writing target because I got caught up in something else that I really shouldn’t have been doing.

Tomorrow, it’s back to working on the sequel to For Those In Peril On The Sea, I promise … unless I stumble across another pointless, but amusing, distraction!

***

If you want to see more example of sleeve-facing (and ones that are a lot better than ours), visit sleeveface.com. Just flicking through the examples there will easily waste half a day when you should be doing something more important.


*****************************************************************************
From the author of For Those In Peril On The Sea, a tale of post-apocalyptic survival in a world where zombie-like infected rule the land and all the last few human survivors can do is stay on their boats and try to survive. Now available in print and as a Kindle ebook. Click here or visit www.forthoseinperil.net to find out more. To download a preview of the first three chapters, click here.

To read the Foreword Clarion Review of For Those In Peril On The Sea (where it scored five stars out of five) click here.

2 Responses to “The Things You Do When You Really Should Be Writing – Part II”

  1. fred bonds 25/07/2013 at 20:19 #

    seriously funny posting. dude your girlfriend looks just like Kevin Bacon. With your flair for humor why not write a zombie comedy????? How screwed up would that be. Old zombies with no teeth gumming people in the streets….

    • cmdrysdale 25/07/2013 at 22:12 #

      Thanks, glad you liked the post!

      I’ve never been brave enough to try to do a zombie comedy yet. I know what I find funny, but I’m not too sure I could write something that others would find funny too. Maybe one day though if the right idea comes along.

      I like the idea of old zombies trying to ‘gum’ people to death though. I’ll need to give that some thought…

Leave a Reply

