What Would You Do If … Dilemmas In A Zombie Apocalypse: No. 21 – The Altruist’s Dilemma

26 Jul

The five of you have been working your way through the maze of corridors for the last four hours, killing zombies whenever you ran into them. Ahead you finally see the exit and you breathe a sigh of relief because you’re running low on bullets and once you’re outside you can get into you vehicle and drive back to your safe house. You knew almost from the moment you stepped inside the abandoned stadium looking for supplies that it was a bad idea, but it has taken you this long just to get back out safely again. Suddenly three undead shamble round the corner, blocking your path to the exit. You raise your run and fire; the first goes down, but then the gun just clicks: you’re out of ammo and you’ve got no other weapons to hand. You curse your mis-fortune and try desperately to work out what to do next. Then a thought occurs to you: if you attack the zombies bare-handed, it will give the others enough time to escape. Of course, you’ll also die a horrible death as the zombies feast on your still-living flesh. What do you do?


As always, this dilemma is just here to make you think, so there’s no right or wrong answer. Vote in the poll to let others know what you do if you were in this situation, and if you want to give a more detailed answer, leave a comment on this posting.



*****************************************************************************
From the author of For Those In Peril On The Sea, a tale of post-apocalyptic survival in a world where zombie-like infected rule the land and all the last few human survivors can do is stay on their boats and try to survive. Now available in print and as a Kindle ebook. Click here or visit www.forthoseinperil.net to find out more. To download a preview of the first three chapters, click here.

To read the Foreword Clarion Review of For Those In Peril On The Sea (where it scored five stars out of five) click here.

11 Responses to “What Would You Do If … Dilemmas In A Zombie Apocalypse: No. 21 – The Altruist’s Dilemma”

  1. kaineandrews 26/07/2013 at 16:15 #

    The poll results here are quite interesting. (The fact that “Would sacrifice for a family member” is top dog with “Hell no” running second amuses me.) But I feel it’s missing an option: “That one special person.” Some folks out there would let the Zeds munch on strangers, most of their family or maybe “friends,” but there’s probably that one person they’d sacrifice themselves for. Maybe it’s just because my moral compass is off. XD (“Oh, dad’s getting chewed on by rots? Oh well!” “They got Bob? No big deal.” “Oh crap, T’s gonna die if I don’t do something! DIE ZOMBIE SCUM!” Ahem.)

    • cmdrysdale 26/07/2013 at 17:32 #

      Yep, these are certainly some interesting results. I guess the lesson here is if you want to be around people who will do anything to help you survive in a zombie apocalypse, they’d better be family!

      You’re right that I’ve missed out an option for ‘that special person’, and as you say almost everyone will have that one individual who they’d give their lives for, even if they means getting munched on by zombies. Of course, there’s a flip side to this, which is that while you might do everything to save them, they might not necessarily do the same for you. This is seen in the results of The Boyfriend Dilemma (http://wp.me/p2PdIc-jl) where a rather shocking 40% of respondents said they’d trip their boyfriend just to give them a better chance of getting away from a pursuing zombie!

      • RStorey 26/07/2013 at 19:11 #

        This reminds me of some movie I saw where guy A said to guy B “I don’t have to outrun the bear, I just have to outrun you.”

      • cmdrysdale 26/07/2013 at 19:27 #

        When I used to go snorkling when I worked in The Bahamas, I’d always make sure my dive buddy was the slowest swimmer I could find for just the same reason (well, not because of bears obviously but rather because of sharks!)

      • RStorey 26/07/2013 at 19:30 #

        Wow. That’s harsh yo. Ha!

      • cmdrysdale 26/07/2013 at 20:00 #

        Obviously I’m joking – it was the barracudas I was worried about, and not sharks!

      • RStorey 26/07/2013 at 20:02 #

        Obviously. 🙂

  2. RStorey 26/07/2013 at 19:09 #

    I would totally sacrifice myself for certain members of my family….but I wouldn’t trust my back to other me,beers of my family so I wouldn’t even be in that situation with them….so yes I would willingly sacrifice myself to save my family.

    However, I certainly wouldn’t go down without a fight! I would hopefully be prepared enough and carry a hatchet or something as a back up.

    • cmdrysdale 26/07/2013 at 19:20 #

      I’d be pretty picky who I’d sacrifice myself for too, but there’d always be someone I’d give up my life for. However, as you say the best option is not to get yourself into this type of situation in the first place!

  3. grinningbear1980 27/07/2013 at 14:12 #

    I don’t know what I’d do in this situation. I love to think I’d sacrifice myself… but i find myself coming up with no honest answer.

    • cmdrysdale 27/07/2013 at 15:21 #

      Sometimes there can be a gap between what we hope we’d do and what we’d actually do…

Leave a Reply

