Tiredness Kills – A Flash Fiction Story

31 Jul

As I speed along the highway, weaving through the abandoned and burnt out cars, I spot a rusting sign at the side of the road proclaiming ‘Tiredness Kills – Take a Break’ and I can’t help but laugh. I’d always thought such public safety warnings were pointless but now the world’s changed, I can see it’s prophetically useful advice. After all, the last guy I knew who fell asleep when he should have been doing something else woke up to find a zombie chewing his face off. He was meant to be on watch but just couldn’t keep his eyes open and it crept up on him while he slept; so you see the sign’s right, tiredness can kill you, especially in the world in which we all now live.



*****************************************************************************
From the author of For Those In Peril On The Sea, a tale of post-apocalyptic survival in a world where zombie-like infected rule the land and all the last few human survivors can do is stay on their boats and try to survive. Now available in print and as a Kindle ebook. Click here or visit www.forthoseinperil.net to find out more. To download a preview of the first three chapters, click here.

To read the Foreword Clarion Review of For Those In Peril On The Sea (where it scored five stars out of five) click here.

2 Responses to “Tiredness Kills – A Flash Fiction Story”

  1. breezybealle 08/08/2013 at 01:51 #

    I liked the flash fiction, but more importantly it helped me find my way to the preview of For those in Peril. I like your writing style. That’s the first thing I look for when trying on a new author and your overall tone and use of words hit the spot. I’m glad I stumbled onto your blog!

    • cmdrysdale 08/08/2013 at 11:25 #

      Thanks. It’s alwasy nice to hear when someone likes my writing.

Leave a Reply

