‘The Outbreak’ Has Been Selected As A Finalist In Foreword Reviews’ INDIEFAB Book of the Year Awards For 2014

13 Mar

The Outbreak, the second book in my For Those In Peril series of post-apocalyptic survival novels, has been selected as a finalist in the horror category of Foreword Reviews’ INDIEFAB Book of the Year Awards for 2014.

Obviously, I’m delighted by this, but it does put some pressure on the third book in the series, which I’m currently working on and which will be called The Island At The End Of The World, as this second time I’ve been selected as a finalist in this category (the first book in the series, For Those In Peril On The Sea, was a finalist in the 2013 competition).

For those interested in all things zombie, there’s actually quite a strong undead contingent on the finalists list this year, with Christy J. Leppanen’s rather interesting and unique Bulletin of ZOMBIE Research, and Kevin Wayne Williams intriguingly titled Everything I know About Zombies, I learned In Kindergarten also making the list, and I’d recommend checking both of them out when you have the time.

For those who are interested, the winners in Foreword Reviews’ INDIEFAB Book of the Year Awards for 2014 will be announced on the 26th of June 2015, so I’ll be keeping all my fingers crossed until then (which may make editing the next book in the series a little difficult!).


*****************************************************************************
From the author of For Those In Peril On The Sea, a tale of post-apocalyptic survival in a world where zombie-like infected rule the land and all the last few human survivors can do is stay on their boats and try to survive. Now available in print and as a Kindle ebook. Click here or visit www.forthoseinperil.net to find out more. To download a preview of the first three chapters, click here.

To read the Foreword Clarion Review of For Those In Peril On The Sea (where it scored five stars out of five) click here.

6 Responses to “‘The Outbreak’ Has Been Selected As A Finalist In Foreword Reviews’ INDIEFAB Book of the Year Awards For 2014”

  1. Kaine Andrews 13/03/2015 at 18:54 #

    Congrats, and good luck! (Though, I have to say, the “I Learned in Kindergarten” section might be a tough customer for the name alone… 😉 )

    • Colin M. drysdale 13/03/2015 at 23:55 #

      Thanks for the congrats andthe good luck. I said pretty much the same thing to my girlfriend about the ‘I Learned in Kindergarten’ one myself. The ‘Bulletin of ZOMBIE Research’ one also looks pretty amazing, and is one I’m going to have to get copy of. All in all, it’s going to be a tough competition!

  2. “Everything I Know About Zombies, I Learned in Kindergarten” wound up self-published pretty much because of the subject matter. Agents and publishers alike gave me the same feedback: “It’s well written, but we don’t know how to sell a book about black and Hispanic children unless the point of the book is to make black and Hispanic children feel better about themselves.” I don’t know how one could write a horror novel that made the subjects feel better about themselves, since it would stop being a horror novel at that point.

    • Colin M. drysdale 15/03/2015 at 11:28 #

      I suspect a lot of books end up not getting published for very similar reasons (the lack of ability for publishers to understand who would buy it rather than whether books are actually any good). I think this is something JK Rowling struggled with, with publishers telling her that kids these days just wouldn’t be interested in reading book about wizards and witches (oh how they got that wrong!). In this particular instance, I find it odd that books about black and Hispanic kids must be aimed at making them feel better about themselves to be marketable, and that a horror book can’t do this. Surely just reading about characters like themselves, regardless of the situation, it good for people? Here in Scotland, we saw this with Irvine Welsh’s book ‘Train spotting’ which got a whole generation of young people from backgrounds where reading was not a usual activity into books simply because it was about characters they could connect (because they were like themselves, or their friends, or their family, and they’d never come across characters like this in books before). This was despite it’s subject matter of drug use and addiction. This, I think, is one of the potential benefits of the independent publishing revolution. It allows writers to connect directly with their potential audience without having the pass through the unimaginative filter of agents and publishers who can’t understand how to market a book to sections of the population they know little about. Anyway, congratulations on getting selected as a finalist in the Indiefab book of the year competition, and I‘m really looking forward to reading ‘Everything I Know About Zombies …’ when I get the opportunity.

      • It wasn’t just that it wasn’t intended to make them feel better, but that it wasn’t even suitable for them to read. Books about children that are targeted at adults have always been a tough sell, and the ethnicities compound the problem. I won’t compare myself to Rowling, but I do take solace in the fact that Goldman’s “Lord of the Flies” flopped miserably upon initial release.

      • Colin M. drysdale 15/03/2015 at 20:10 #

        That’s an interesting point I hadn’t thought about, but it is one of the reasons I’me quite intrigued to read it. Sometimes I think that publishers are too unwilling to take on something that doesn’t necessarily conform to the norm, and are becoming ever less so. Anyway, I hope the self-publishing route works out for you.

Leave a Reply

